MINUTES OF CITY OF WHARTON BEAUTIFICATION COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING

Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Chairperson Adraylle Watson declared a meeting of the Beautification Commission duly open for the transaction of business at 4:32 p.m.

Commissioners present were:

Rachel Roberson, Adraylle Watson, Nancy Mata, Amanda

Gonzales, and Sheryl Joost

Commissioners absent were:

Debbie Folks

Staff members present were:

Nathan Vogt, Code Enforcement Paula Favors, City Secretary

London Davis, Finance Accountant

Brandi Jimenez, Assistant to the City Manager

Visitors:

None

Roll Call and Excused Absences. Commissioner Rachel Roberson moved to excuse Commissioner Debbie Folks. Commissioner Sheryl Joost seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Public Comments. There were no Public Comments.

The first item on the agenda was to review & consider minutes from the meeting held May 8, 2024. Commissioner Nancy Mata made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Commissioner Sheryl Joost seconded the motion. All in favor.

The second item on the agenda was to review and consider Financial Report for the month of June 2024. The Commission reviewed the YTD 2023-2024 Budget. After some discussion, Commissioner Rachel Roberson made the motion to accept the Financial Report after revisions were made with the recommended changes. Commissioner Sheryl Joost seconded the motion. All in favor.

The third item on the agenda was to review and consider Certificates of Recognition.

- 1. Business- Ace/ Wharton Feed, The Vintage Butterfly, and New Hope Community Church. After some discussion, Commissioner Rachel Roberson made a motion to recommend Ace/ Wharton Feed to receive the business Certificate of Recognition. Commissioner Amanda Gonzales seconded the motion. All voted in favor.
- 2. Residence 516 Circle Drive. After some discussion, Commissioner Nancy Mata made a motion to recommend 516 Circle Drive for the residence Certificate of Recognition. Commissioner Sheryl Joost seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

The fourth item on the agenda was to review and consider Subcommittee Reports.

- A. Advocacy (Debbie Folks): No Action taken.
- B. Art (Debbie Folks): No Action taken.
- C. Community (Adraylle Watson):

- 1. Grants for projects and community requests for supplies/volunteers: No Action taken.
- 2. Event/Merchandise booths: No Action taken.
- 3. Dog Park- The commission discussed that the water fountain on the large dog side of the Santa Fe Dog Park was still not working, City Liaison Nathan Vogt stated that he would contact the Parks and Recreation Department on repairs, and if they were unable to fix the repairs, he would contact the company that installed the fountains. He stated he would inquire with the Parks and Recreation Department regarding the extra doggie waste bags that were part of the Doggie Waste Stations.

D. Education (Rachel Roberson):

1. Social media campaigns: Commissioner Rachel Roberson stated she would email the data from the Facebook group to the City Liaison, who would then send it out to the Commission.

E. Garden (Rachel Roberson):

1. Planter Adoption Program: Commissioner Rachel Roberson stated to the Commission that the Planter Adoption Program was going well. She stated that there was still a need for an adopter for the Airport flower beds. She stated that she had emailed all information regarding the program to the City Liaison.

F. Trash/Recycling (Adraylle Watson)

1. The Commission discussed that the cost of the collected tires during the Spring Sweep was not as much as expected, due to Public Works assistance. The Commission discussed dates to hold a Fall Sweep if they wished.

The fifth item on the agenda was adjournment. City Liaison Nathan Vogt thanked Commissioner Nancy Mata and Commissioner Rachel Roberson for their dedication and hard work they had given to the Commission during their years of service. He reminded the remaining commissioners that elections would be held at the next meeting. Commissioner Rachel Roberson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 4/59 p.m. Commissioner Nancy Mata seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Chairperson, Adray le Watson

Secretary, Amanda forzales.