Cedar Falls Planning and Zoning Commission Regular Meeting February 28, 2024 Cedar Falls, Iowa

<u>MINUTES</u>

The Cedar Falls Planning and Zoning Commission met in regular session on February 28, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall. The following Commission members were present: Alberhasky, Hartley, Henderson, Johnson, Leeper, Sorensen, and Stalnaker. Grybovych and Moser were absent. Karen Howard, Planning & Community Services Manager and Thomas Weintraut, Planner III, were also present.

- 1.) Acting Chair briefly introduced new commission members Maureen Henderson, Brent Johnson, and Gordon Sorensen.
- 2.) Acting Chair Hartley noted the Minutes from the January 24, 2024 regular meeting are presented. Alberhasky made a motion to approve the Minutes as presented. Leeper seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously with 8 ayes (Alberhasky, Hartley, Henderson, Johnson, Leeper, Moser, Sorensen and Stalnaker), and 0 nays.
- 3.) The first item of business was a Land Use Map Amendment and Rezoning request for approximately 2.7-acre parcel formerly known as 3225 W. 1st Street. Community Services Manager Howard explained that the item has been withdrawn by the applicant, so no further action is needed.
- 4.) The next item for consideration by the Commission was Zoning Code text amendments regarding updates to the floodplain regulations associated with the adoption of the new Flood Insurance Rate Maps by FEMA. Acting Chair Hartley introduced the item and Planner Weintraut provided background information. He explained that most of the amendments are just clarifications or additional definitions that need to be updated to current FEMA standards. There are approximately eight sections that will need to be updated prior to the effective date of the new floodplain maps on May 8, 2024. Weintraut discussed the background of the map updating process that started in 2019. He noted that the DNR reviewed the City's ordinance and recommended changes to bring the City's ordinance into compliance with FEMA requirements. He went on to discuss each proposed text amendment.

Sorensen inquired whether the Commission needed to review and approve the new floodplain maps. Howard clarified that FEMA adopts the maps and then requires local jurisdictions to acknowledge the new maps and make any necessary amendments to floodplain ordinances prior to the effective date of the new maps, which is May 8, 2024. Leeper made a motion to approve the item. Henderson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously with 7 ayes (Alberhasky, Hartley, Henderson, Johnson, Leeper, Sorensen and Stalnaker), and 0 nays.

5.) The Commission then nominated and appointment of officers for 2024. Alberhasky spoke on behalf of the nominating committee stating that David Hartley has been

nominated to be Chair and Brad Leeper has been nominated to be Vice-Chair. Both accepted that nomination.

Alberhasky made a motion to approve the nominations. Sorensen seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously with 7 ayes (Alberhasky, Hartley, Henderson, Johnson, Leeper, Sorensen and Stalnaker), and 0 nays.

6.) As there were no further comments, Alberhasky made a motion to adjourn. Henderson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously with 7 ayes (Alberhasky, Hartley, Henderson, Johnson, Leeper, Sorensen and Stalnaker), and 0 nays.

The meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Howard

Community Services Manager

Joanne Goodrich

Administrative Assistant

Joanne Goodrick